Ref reportedly admits to penalty mistake in Sydney derby
REFEREE Chris Beath has reportedly admitted he was wrong to deny Alex Brosque a penalty in the dying seconds of Sydney FC's derby defeat to the Western Sydney Wanderers.
The penalty shout was one of two waved away by the match official, with a Sky Blues source claiming Beath apologised to coach Graham Arnold after watching a replay and realising his decision had been incorrect.
Beath's non-decision meant Brendon Santalab's goal was enough to give the Wanderers a 1-0 win and end Sydney FC's 19-game unbeaten streak.
TV replays suggested Wanderers defender Robert Cornthwaite caught Sydney captain Brosque and the penalty should have been awarded, according to the Sydney skipper.
"I knew he took me out just because basically when he (Cornthwaite) hit me I wasn't able to take that next step (and) I had an open goal," Brosque said.
"I was very frustrated and annoyed at the fact he (Beath) missed it, because I felt he was close enough.
"There was a loud enough sound to hear there was contact, and really there was no need for me to go down.
"A big decision like that is always going to be tough for a referee I guess ... it just feels like it was snatched away from us."
Earlier in the game Sydney FC also had another good shout for a spot kick when Milos Ninkovic went down under Santalab's wild challenge.
Coach Graham Arnold did not publicly criticises Beath but did say his players were extremely unhappy.
"They feel there was potentially at least two (penalties), but at the end of the day plenty of other coaches have been talking about it so I'll leave it to them," he said.