Touch players receive accolades

Dylan Nobbs, Chloe Carmichael, Sophia Walton and Pat O'Brien at the Dalby Touch Association grand finals last week.
Dylan Nobbs, Chloe Carmichael, Sophia Walton and Pat O'Brien at the Dalby Touch Association grand finals last week. Contributed

TOUCH: Dalby Touch Association celebrated another successful season last week as it hosted grand finals for men's, women's and mixed competitions on Monday and Wednesday nights.

In the second season for the year, 11 teams reigned supreme across various grades, with a high standard of play resulting in many hard-fought affairs.

In mixed competition, which had six winners in grades ranging from A-F, Turn it Up took out top honours in A grade, Gypsies in B grade, Young Guns in C grade, Touch 'n' Go in Dgrade, Here for the Beers in Egrade and NFR in Fgrade.

Exceptional performances were acknowledged as Jake Schieber, Jack Carmichael, Travis Babington, Alicia Cook, Cooper Suhr and Drew Gersekowski took out Player of the Final titles for their respective grades.

In the men's competition, the season's bragging rights went to the River Rats in Agrade, Zulus in Bgrade and Katange in Cgrade, with Player of the Final honours awarded to Mitchell Taylor, Brandon Hunt and Dylan Nobbs.

In the female competition, Uncut reigned victorious in Agrade with Sophia Walton recognised for her exceptional individual performance taking home Player of the Final, while Vipers won Bgrade with Khianna Buckley awarded Player of the Final.

A host of individuals received honours for excellence throughout the season, with Jack Carmichael continuing his form as a player to win Most Improved Referee of the Year, Jason Mirani taking home Referee of the Year and Nevin Burton honoured with Clubperson of the Year.

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

The future is now on show in Dalby

NEXT GENERATION: Bradley Smith announcing at the Kilcoy Show.

Dalby man Brad Smith is in the running for show award

Students compete on the international stage

BRIGHT FUTURES: Riley Mortimer, Bridie Yeo and Hayley Russell.

Dalby students have shown off their skills in Brisbane

MP Leahy chosen for LNP cabinet

SHADOW: LNP Leader Deb Frecklington with Ann Leahy in Dalby.

Ann Leahy in new-look shadow cabinet led by Deb Frecklington.

Local Partners